Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Book :

Great Masters of Indian Cinema: The Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners
by D. P. Mishra
Hardcover (Edition: 2006)
Publications DivisionISBN 8123013612
Size: 9" X 7"
Pages: 160 (B & W Illus: 36)
For More Details Check : http://www.exoticindiaart.com/book/details/IDG486/

Indian Cinema has evolved in more than one ways over the last 100 years. It has now come to play an important role in our daily lives-mainly as a source of entertaining and occasionally, a soul stirring and thought provoking medium. Commercialization of this effective medium is the order of the day with all the attendant pitfalls. Industry has been facing several challenges and hopefully, shall overcome all of them with the passage of time.

Every field including the Cinema has its own ups and downs and highs and lows and the extraordinary and ordinary. Dadasaheb Phalke Award, starting with 1969 has emerged as the most widely acknowledged recognition of the contributions of distinguished persons to the growth and development of the film industry in several ways. This Award has indeed become an institution and is much sought after. Over the years this distinction has been conferred on actors, actresses, directors, producers, lyricists, composers and singers covering the broad spectrum that constitutes the industry. From Devika Rani to Adoor Gopalakirshnan, 35 distinguished persons from different languages and regions have been conferred the honour of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award. Dr. D. P. Mishra has made an effort to capture the glimpses of their contributions in this book and it is an effort worthy of appreciation.

Analytical approach correlating the evolutionary social trends and their reflection in cinema of different times would have been more appropriate for the benefit of the readers. Maybe, this requires another special effort. This book presents a sketch of details of life of various awardees and the films they were associated with. To that extent this book can be a collector's item.

The author and the Publications Division of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India, deserves appreciation for their initiative and efforts in bringing out this book.
(Dr. Dasari Narayana Rao)
NEW DELHI.08-02-2006
Devika Rani-Actress (1969) Page No. 1
B. N. Sircar-Producer (1970) Page No. 6
Prithviraj Kapoor- Actor, Director, Producer (1971) Page No. 9
Pankaj Mullick- Singer, Actor, Composer (1972) Page No. 13
Sulochana- Actress (1973) Page No.16
B. N. Reddi- Director, Producer (1974) Page No.19
Dhiren Ganguly- Actor, Director, Producer (1975) Page No.21
Kanan Devi- Actress, Singer, Producer (1976) 23
Nitin Bose- Cinematographer, Director, Producer (1977) Page No.26
R. C. Boral- Composer (1978) Page No.28
Sohrab Modi- Actor, Director, Producer (1979) Page No.29
P. Jairaj-Actor, Director, Producer (1980) Page No. 32
Naushad- Composer Page No.36
L. V. Prasad- Actor, Director, Producer (1982) Page No.40
Durga Khote- Actress (1983) Page No.44
Satyajit Ray- Director, Producer (1984) Page No.47
V. Shantaram- Director, Producer, Actor (1985) Page No. 53
B. Nagi Reddi- Producer (1986) Page No. 58
Raj Kapoor- Actor, Director (1987) Page No.61
Ashok Kumar- Actor, Singer (1988) Page No.66
Lata Mangeshkar- Singer, Producer (1989) Page No. 72
A. Nageswara Rao- Actor (1990) Page No.76
Bhalji Pendharkar-Producer, Director (1991) Page No.81
Bhupen Hazarika-Composer, Singer, Producer (1992) Page No.83
Majrooh Sultanpuri-Lyricist (1993) Page No. 87
Dilip Kumar-Actor (1994) Page No.91
Raj Kumar- Actor, Singer, Producer (1995) Page No.96
Sivaji Ganesan- Actor (1996) Page No.99
Pradeep-Lyricist, Poet (1997) Page No.105
B. R. Chopra-Director, Producer (1998) Page No.109
Hrishikesh Mukherjee- Director (1999) Page No.112
Asha Bhosle-Singer (2000) Page No. 119
Yash Chopra-Director, Producer (2001) Page No.122
Dev Anand- Actor, Director, Producer (2002) Page No.130
Mrinal Sen- Director (2003) Page No.136
Adoor Gopalakrishnan- Director (2004) Page No.140
Bibliography Page No.143

No comments: