Tuesday, July 14, 2009

President of India, Smt.Pratibha Devisingh Patil confers Akademi Ratna Award to Bhupen Hazarika

Noted Assamese film maker, writer, actor, singer and musician, Bhupendra Hazarika was today (July 14) elected as Fellow of Sangeet Natak Akademi along with eminent Kathak exponent Sitara Devi.

In a function held at Vigyan Bhavan to honour winners of Sangeet Natak Akademi awards for the year 2008, veteran theatre art director and painter, Khaled Choudhury (who could not attend due to ill health) and musicologist R C Mehta, were also inducted as Fellows of the Akademi.

All the four personalities were honoured on the occasion by President Pratiba Patil with a shawl, tamrapatra and a citation of Rs one lakh. Theatre personalities Arundhati Nag, Markand Bhatt (both for acting), Mudra Rakshasa (Hindi playwright), Probir Guha (direction) were also among the 33 winners of the prestigious annual award.

A multi-faceted scholar in the fields of music, dance, philosophy, education and anthropology, R Sathyanarayana, was given the scholarship in performing arts. The winners of the Sangeet Natak Akademi awards were given a shawl, tamprapatra, and a citation along with Rs 50,000 cheque.
News Source:
Photo Source : DD News